Survey: Hood River Curbside Composting

Hood River City Council is looking at adding curbside composting to the existing garbage services.  There is a new survey out to help guide the council’s decision making. If you care about curbside composting in Hood River, please take 2 minutes to fill out the survey and spread the word!

coming to Hood River?

Coming to Hood River?

The City Council will address the issue at the Sept 28th meeting, 6pm, City Hall. Please come and show your support!

Some data from a 2010 study on organics and composting in the Gorge:

Screen Shot 2015-09-14 at 1.14.17 PM

40% of the Hood River waste stream is compostable!

Screen Shot 2015-09-14 at 1.16.22 PM

There is a pilot commercial program in HR, a residential program would help the commercial program grow.

Links to interesting info regarding the importance of curbside composting:

Tri Counties Recycling study on Composting in the Gorge

Website detailing best practices nationwide for curbside composting.

Article on increased diversion rates from using roll carts.
Putting the Cart before the Bin


Posted in Composting, Latest News, Policy, The Gorge | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Two Cool Compost Uses

IMG_8435Recently, we were alerted to two different, but very cool uses of Dirt Hugger compost. The first gave me the best excuse ever to go check out ‘compost research’ on a section of mt bike single track called the Super Connector. Jim Thorton of 44 trails association has been using our compost for trail building in the Mt Hood forest.

Specifically, he applied it on 3-9%, adverse grade trails to help hold the trail together. From personal experience, I can tell you the trails were holding up great. While the initial research has been mostly through observation he is now getting some technical soil scientists on board to find out why compost works well on trails. Check out what they are doing and go ride some of their amazing trails!

The second cool use was a compost spreading workshop put on by the Underwood Conservation District. They recently purchased a manure/compost spreader that is now available to rent through DJ’s in Bingen. During the workshop UCD spread compost at Domaine Poullion vineyard. Check out the photos below.

2015-07-11 10.14.55
2015-07-11 11.04.24

Posted in Latest News | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment